Delifus Among Community Development Award Recipients – Free Press of Jacksonville

Shown from left to right: winners: Michelle Braun, Bishop Vaughn and Narlene McLaughlin, Joyce Delifus and James Smith

Joyce Delifus, founder of the Shawn D. Delifus Foundation, recently received the Janet Owens Award, in honor of the former executive director and community visionary of LISC Jacksonville. As Director of the Shawn D. Delifus Foundation, the recipient embodies safety, justice, and positive community engagement through her work with the foundation. Since its inception, the foundation has provided swimming lessons to hundreds of children in underserved communities.

The 2022 JF Bryan Award was also presented to Kingdom Plaza Mall founders Bishop Vaughn and Narlene McLaughlin. The McLaughlins have created a ministry that socially, economically, educationally and spiritually uplifts the lives of many in the Westside Normandy Village community. Their purchase and renovation of the dilapidated old Normandy Village mall, transforming it into the thriving Kingdom Plaza Mall, created an entity that created an economic powerhouse housing a bowling alley, gym, restaurant and business incubator. small enterprises.

The Igniter Award, which recognizes a real estate project that advances the urban core in Jacksonville’s underserved neighborhoods, was presented to James Smith. Contractor Smith purchased and rehabilitated a nearly 4,000 square foot commercial property in Springfield. The initial investment encouraged additional investment on Main Street, helping it become an active commercial district with rising land values.

LISC CDA_Danisha Edwards Artist Award

All winners were recognized for transforming Jacksonville’s historically underresourced neighborhoods, creating opportunities for economic and social advancement for local residents.

Norma P. Rex